Claire Pomeroy, MD, MBA

Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation

Claire Pomeroy is president and CEO of the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation since 2013. She is dedicated to improving health by accelerating support for medical research through recognition of research excellence, education and advocacy. As an infectious disease physician, she is passionate about caring for the underserved, strengthening public health infrastructure and addressing the social determinants of health. She is committed to advancing inclusion in science, including advocating for gender and racial/ethnic equity in academic medicine.

She has held faculty positions at the University of Minnesota, University of Kentucky and University of California, Davis. She pursued VA and NIH funded research on the immunology of viral diseases and has published over 100 articles and co-authored four books. She was chief of infectious diseases at the University of Kentucky, where she also had roles as assistant dean for clinical affairs and associate dean for informatics. She then became executive associate dean at the University of California, Davis School of Medicine in 2003 and served as dean of the medical school and vice chancellor for health from 2005 to 2013.

Dr. Pomeroy received her undergraduate and medical degrees from the University of Michigan. She completed her residency in internal medicine and fellowship in infectious disease at the University of Minnesota. She earned an MBA from the University of Kentucky.

Dr. Pomeroy was inducted into the National Academy of Medicine in 2011. She has received honorary degrees from University of Massachusetts Medical School (2016) and the University of South Florida Morsani School of Medicine (2022). Other recognition includes: Distinguished Leadership Award (Huntington’s Disease Society of America); Hispanic Health Leadership Award (National Hispanic Health Foundation); Humanitarian of the Year Award (United Cerebral Palsy- Sacramento); Trailblazer Award (Leadership California); Freedom from Fear Award (Sacramento Stonewall Democratic Club); Distinguished Service Award (University of Michigan Medical Center Alumni Society); Medal of Excellence (Cooper School of Medicine at Rowan University); President’s Award (American Association of Blood Banks); and Alumni Hall of Fame (University of Kentucky Gatton School of Business).

She has served on numerous not-for-profit and corporate boards, including as chair of the AAHC and chair of the AAMC Council of Deans. She currently serves on the Boards of the Morehouse School of Medicine; Science Philanthropy Alliance; Science Communication Lab; Explore Biology; Center for Women in Academic Medicine and Science (CWAMS); Sierra Health Foundation; Haemonetics Corporation; and Embecta Corporation.