The Leadership Council is a group of preeminent senior executive leaders in healthcare. The Council reflects a remarkable cross-section of nationally recognized leaders, including CEOs and presidents of major health systems and institutions, prominent foundations, consultancies, and more.

Leadership Council members provide the Carol Emmott Foundation with deep expertise and wide visibility. They act as mentors, keynote speakers, and convergence conference panelists, and help drive the Foundation’s vision of elevating women to the topmost ranks of healthcare leadership. Fellows interact with Leadership Council members throughout the year.

Scroll down to view a list of active Leadership Council members and click on their names to learn more about their bios.

          Leadership Council members at the 2023 Carol Emmott Foundation Annual Meeting in Chicago


Barbara Anderman, MA
Leadership Council Chair
The Carol Emmott Foundation

Afia Asamoah, JD, MPP
Co-Founder; Healthcare Technology Leader; Board Director
Waymark, Inc.

Audre Bagnall
Chief Strategy Officer

Cynthia Barginere, DNP, RN, FACHE
Senior Vice President and President of Adult Services
University of California, San Francisco

Ann Blouin, RN, PHD, FACHE
PSQ Advisory

David Blumenthal, MD, MPP
President (retired), The Commonwealth Fund
Professor, Practice Public Health Harvard Chan School of Public Health

Jennifer Boffi, MPH
Chief Financial Officer
Sutter East Bay Market

Odette Bolano, FACHE, MHA, BSN
President and Chief Executive Officer, West Region
Trinity Health

Raquel C. Bono, MD, MBA, FACS
Retired Vice Admiral
US Navy

Marna Borgstrom, MPH
Retire Chief Executive Officer
Yale New Haven Health and Yale New Haven Hospital

Cynthia Boyd, MD, MBA, FACP
Prof. of Medicine; Sr. Assoc. Dean, Diversity & Inclusion; Assoc. Dean, Admissions & Recruitment, Rush Medical College; Interim SVP and Chief Compliance Officer, Rush University System for Health

Rhonda Brandon
SVP and Chief Human Resources Officer
Duke University Health System

Denise Brooks-Williams
Executive VP and CEO of Care Delivery System Operations
Henry Ford Health System

Gayle Capozzalo, MPH
Executive Director, The Equity Collaborative-The Carol Emmott Foundation
President and CEO of JGF Strategies LLC

Carolyn Carpenter, MHA, FACHE
President, National Capital Region
Johns Hopkins Health System

Lannie Checketts
Regional CFO
Saint Alphonsus Health system

Bergitta E. Cotroneo, FACMPE
Chief Operating Officer
American College of Physicians

Emme Deland, MBA
Senior Advisor
Dalio Center for Health Justice

Jessica Dudley, MD
Chief Clinical Officer
Press Ganey

Marlina Duncan, EdD
Vice Chancellor for Diversity & Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer at UMass Chan Medical School
University of Massachusetts

Adrienne Edens, MA, CHCIO
Executive Programs Advisor
The College of Healthcare Information Management Executives

Linda Elam, PHD, MPH
Managing Director, Manatt Health
Manatt, Phelps, & Phillips

Kevin Fickenscher, MD

Rebekah Gee, MD, MPH, MSHPR, FACOG
Founder and CEO
Nest Health

Eve Higginbotham, SM, MD, ML
Former Vice Dean for Inclusion and Diversity, Sr. Fellow, Leonard Davis Institute, Professor of Ophthalmology, University of Pennsylvania

Jeri Koester, MBA
Chief Information and Digital Officer
Marshfield Clinic Health System

Wright L. Lassiter III, MHA
CommonSpirit Health

Sharon Levine, MD
EVP, External Affairs, Communications & Brand Strategy
The Permanente Federation

Shannon Lorbiecki
National Advisor
Manatt, Phelps & Phillips

Anne McCune
Chief Executive Officer
The Carol Emmott Foundation

Karen J. Nichols, DO, MA, MACOI, FACP, CS-F
Retire Dean, Internal Med
Midwestern University/Chicago College of Osteopathic Med

Robert Nordgren, MD, MBA, MPH
Chief Medical Officer, Greater SF Market
Sutter Health

Christopher O’Connor, MHSA, FACHE
CEO & President
Yale New Haven Health

Chris Pass
President, Market Performance Partnerships

Barbara Pelletreau, RN MPH
Former Senior Vice President, Patient Safety

Mary Pittman, DrPH
Emeritus, President and CEO
Public Health Institute

Claire Pomeroy, MD, MBA
Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation

Jaewon Ryu, MD, JD
Risant Health

Cheryl Scott, MHCM
McClintock Scott Group

Bruce Solomon, MBA, MPH
Dentons Global Advisors

Kevin Sowers, MSN, RN, FAAN 
President, JHHS, and EVP, Johns Hopkins Medicine
Johns Hopkins Health System

Cynthia Sparer, MPA
Senior Vice President of Operations
Yale New Haven Hospital

Nancy Steiger, MS, RN, FACHE
Founder, Nancy Steiger Consulting and Partner, CEO Advisory Network

Todd Suntrapak, MHCM
President and CEO
Valley Children’s Healthcare

Sue Turney, MD, MS, FACP, FACMPE
Retire CEO
Marshfield Clinic Health System

Lizz Vilardo, MD, MBA
Chief Medical Officer Strategic and Philanthropic Initiatives
Sutter Health

Andy Wiesenthal, MD, SM
Retired Managing Director
Deloitte Consulting

Jane Willemsen, BSN, MSM
Chief Operating Officer
John Muir Health

Ruth Williams-Brinkley, RN, MSN, FACHE
Executive Consultant, Board Director
RWB Advisory Services
Retired Regional President, Mid-Atlantic States, Kaiser Permanente

Andy Ziskind, MD
Managing Director & CEO
BDC Advisors